PERFUMES “EDGE”: STILL DAMN SHARP

edge

Perfume’s Edge (and particularly it’s Triangle mix) is a true anomaly in their catalog. A track that ascended even their strongest singles- and put Yasutaka Nakata‘s strengths as a musician on full show. Hard hitting electro beats, inspired chord changes, perfect production, vocals that have never felt so fitting in a Perfume track since. You can feel it in your gut, it simultaneously overwhelms and comforts. The storm you want to be caught up in.

I first discovered it in 2009. I had read a review that claimed the album “Triangle” was ‘terrible’ and all the songs sounded the same, however, to my surprise- the album was absolutely amazing– and was the first time I took anything labelled “idol” remotely seriously. After giving it a few spins, I knew it was something special- but it was this one track- Edge (Triangle Mix) that convinced me to buy it. I kept playing it over and over. It became an obsession for quite a long while. It was the gateway drug that pushed me into the world of Perfume and I don’t regret it for a single second.

The original mix (which originally appeared on 2008’s “love the world” single) is also great, but it’s the Triangle mix where Nakata ironed out any flaws, slightly extended it and made it harder hitting. I have played this song countless times- it speaks to me on a personal level. It reaches deep inside and elevates the group to godlike heights and when it’s over, it’s hard to appreciate anything else by the group for a little while. Watching live performances give you chills- there’s a delightful sense of excitement that comes over anyone that experiences it- and it’s truly unforgettable.

Nakata has attempted to make songs by Perfume of a similar ilk, such as the (decent enough) track “Party Maker“, but it pales in comparison to the perfection achieved here. If there’s a Perfume anthem, this has got to be it. I doubt I will hear anything remotely as brilliant from any of their competition- or even them, and like a fine wine, it’s aging wonderfully. It sounds as fresh as it did when it was released as it does today. A track to be placed with legends, I personally believe that when Perfume eventually dissipate, this will be one of their most beloved and legendary accomplishments. It will also go down as one of Nakata’s finest tracks and he should be proud of what he brought out of these girls here.

If you haven’t heard it- please do yourself the greatest favor and check it out. If you have, I’m sure you know what I’m talking about- and also should know why it’s so important.

Anyway, that was my little fangasm for today. After all the negativity surrounding Perfume’s latest release, I thought I’d just remind everyone of why we loved them to start with.

PERFUMES “EDGE”: STILL DAMN SHARP

One thought on “PERFUMES “EDGE”: STILL DAMN SHARP

  1. sam says:

    Dude, I was the same.

    Perfume was my first exposure to idol music, and I just put all their albums on play as BGM as I did other stuff.

    When this track came on, I just had to stop whatever I was doing and just bask in it. That track, that single track, was the best song on the album, and it had no vocals whatsoever. Made me an instant fan.

    Nakata is a genius.

    Like

Leave a Reply

